Local Community Action Officers

  • Are you passionate about where you live and what your area is like?
  • Would you like to be involved in making things better?
  • Do you find yourself dreaming about ways it could be better?

We have a team of Local Community Action Officers (LCAN’s) to work across the 6 Active Communities areas, who are all locally recruited and connected residents of their areas. In Area 3 we have formed a partnership with Witton Lodge Community Association who will be delivering the network for our North Birmingham Area.

The LCAN’s work within their community area to become a pair of ears and a voice for the residents. They will work closely with their community and develop a Community Network Group which will in turn take a huge role in being an ongoing ‘go to’ group for all community residents. The networks will be made up of residents and collaborative community organisations who want to help make their communities happier and healthier places. They will co deliver elements of the programme locally such as festivals, crowd recruitment, deciding what investments are made to local groups and co-designing local activities

LCANs will support in the delivery of other active community work within their area and support their local residents with what they would like to see change and develop.

Local Community Action Networks

Our Local Community Action Networks Include:

Area 1: Handsworth, Aston, Birchfield, Holyhead, Lozells, Newtown, Perry Barr, Soho & Jewellery Quarter

More info Contact: Dee.Manning@theaws.org

Area 2: Balsall Heath West, Bordesley & Highgate, Ladywood, Nechells, North Edgbaston

More info contact: Charlene.Fiellateau@theaws.org

Area 3: Erdington, Gravelly Hill, Kingstanding, Perry Common, Stockland Green

More info contact Witton Lodge: Paul.Tse@wittonlodge.org.uk

Area 4: Alum Rock, Bordesley Green, Heartlands, Small Heath, South Yardley, Sparkbrook & Balsall Heath East, Tyseley & Hay Mills, Ward End, Yardley West & Stechford

More info contact: Shaila.Sharif@theaws.org

Area 5: Chelmsley Wood, Kingshurst & Fordbridge, Smith’s Wood, Glebe Farm & Tile Cross, Shard End, Hobs Moat North, Greenhill

More info contact: Karen.Thorne@theaws.org

Area 6: Billesley, Brandwood & King’s Heath, Druids Heath & Monyhull, Highter’s Heath

More info contact: Sharon.Hart@theaws.org or Zed.Bhatti@theaws.org